After spending some time typing up diary entries, I packed up and left the house to walk to Mi Dental on Hay Street, where I had a 10am booking with my regular dentist. It’s been about a year since I last saw him (as it’s been about a year since I’ve been home) and I think he got a shock when I said, ‘Yep, still cycling’. I received a scale and clean but had no problems with my teeth so I was in and out in about 25 minutes. I got a few more diary entries typed up at home before I joined my mum on a grocery shopping trip to Belmont. We also stopped at Bunnings and I took the opportunity to buy some supplies to make another bike stand. My old one rusted out after 15 months of use. This time I’m adapting the retractable handle of a cobweb remover, which was selling for AU$5. Return home meant a fresh sandwich for lunch (thanks Mum). I then researched and bought a pair of bike shorts, my old ones having completely worn out after a year of use. I returned to my diary work, which carried me through to dinnertime. My parents came home early from an evening out while I was halfway cooking myself a vegetable/rice/egg meal. Fortunately, I’d overestimated the volume of ingredients I needed so there was plenty to share. I did the dishes, then rewarded myself with an ice cream. Again I returned to my computer for more work. I’m motivated by the idea that all this work in documenting my trip will play a direct role in getting me a travel grant at the end of the year when I run out of my own money.


Accommodation Home
Distance ridden today 0km
Total distance ridden 17,908km